Liebster Blog Award


Liebster Blog Award

There is a new award floating around the blogging universe that is awarded to bloggers from bloggers. This award goes by the name Liebster Blog Award. I was lucky enough to have one passed on to me from John over at The Droid You’re Looking For and I want to send a big THANK YOU his way. So, if you are given the award, you have to share eleven things about yourself, answer eleven questions, choose eleven blogs that you enjoy and pass on eleven questions on to those bloggers. So, lets begin…

11 THINGS ABOUT STEVE:

1.) I am deathly afraid of spiders. I absolutely cannot stand them and I always seem to stumble upon the worst ones out there. They really creep me out.

2.) I love going to concerts. I haven’t made it to one in two years which bums me out. I’ve seen bands like The Flaming Lips, Sonic Youth, Radiohead, Rob Zombie, Placebo, Franz Ferdinand, She Wants Revenge, Mickey Avalon, Muse, Wolfmother, The Go! Team, Death Cab for Cutie, and more. The best one was by far Rob Zombie.

3.) I love to read. Recently, I have moved away from fiction and been reading lots of non-fiction. I also enjoy collecting books.

4.) I really like video games. My favorite games are Bioshock, Batman: Arkham City, Limbo, and Half-Life. I’m not very good at them but I have a blast playing them.

5.) I am afraid of driving. I was involved in a very nasty accident a few years ago (which wasn’t my fault) and ever since I have not been a big fan of it. I really dislike driving long distances because I just don’t trust other people on the road. I usually try to avoid it if I can.

6.) I am not a morning person. I have to down a cup of coffee before I can even think about doing anything productive in the morning. If I had it my way, I wouldn’t wake up until around noon.

7.) I can be incredibly shy. It usually takes me a little bit of time to open up to someone. I have to really get to know them before I become really buddy-buddy with them.

8.) I really love absinthe. I wish it wasn’t so expensive because I’d always have a bottle of it.

9.) I absolutely love Halloween. It has been my favorite holiday ever since I was a little kid. The day after Halloween is the most depressing day of the year, in my opinion.

10.) I could eat sushi for every meal. I absolutely love it. My favorite is eel.

11.) I really enjoy cooking. I do everything from pizza to cajun to mexican. I think it is a lot of fun to experiment with different recipes and put my own spin on them.

QUESTIONS FROM JOHN:

1. Eating in a theater- nefarious behavior or perfectly acceptable?

It depends on the movie I am seeing. If I really want to see the movie then I wouldn’t entertain the idea because it distracts me from the screen. I hate it when other people bring it and they are loud about it. If it is a movie I am so-so on, then I may grab a bag of candy or a soda for the hell of it. I just recently went to the drive-in and I have to say that I wouldn’t even consider going to the drive-in without some food and drink.

2. If a train leaves Chicago at 10 pm and travels at an average of 70 miles per hour, and travels 280 miles away, while another train leaves Philadelphia heading for the same destination 300 miles away traveling at 75 miles per hour, what is your favorite movie?

If this were seriously a math question, I’d be doomed. My favorite movie is Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight. I just love everything about that movie, from the acting, to the subtext, to the action. It also appeals to the Batman fan in me, although I think The Dark Knight Rises may trump it. The Dark Knight ties with George Romero’s Dawn of the Dead. It is the movie that made me fall in love with movies. I just think it is so ahead of its time and that it really makes a lasting impression. It also manages to be a combination of everything. It is funny, thrilling, creepy, terrifying, isolated, cold, dramatic, and action packed. I love that Romero really forces us to get to know those characters so when the time comes for one to become zombie chow, it really leaves us in ruin.

3. What do you do for a living?

I work for Old Navy. It is not the most exciting job but it puts money in the bank.

4. What is your credit card number, expiration date, and social security number? Ok, just kidding. How many movies do you own? A ballpark figure is fine.

I’m going to have to go with a ballpark figure here because I have quite a few. Combining Blu-rays and DVDs, I have probably around 300 movies. I don’t even know where to go with all of them.

5. Do you own any pets? Bonus points given if it’s a dog.

I do. I have a dog. He is a year and a half old Brittany Spaniel named Spencer.

6. Describe the way the Hawley-Smoot Tariff has impacted your daily life.

I guess I know what it is so I live with that knowledge. I feel I am a better person for knowing about it.

7. Is there such a thing as a movie that’s “so bad it’s good”?

Oh yes. I point you towards old Italian zombie exploitation flicks like Hell of the Living Dead and Burial Grounds. Those movies are so awful that they actually end up being pretty good. They have no shame. As far as new movies are concerned, there are a few comedies that are so stupid that they are actually kind of funny. The first one I can think of is Grandma’s Boy. It is just so stupid that it is funny.

8. Other than your native country, which country makes the best (or at least, your favorite) films?

I think Italy made some truly amazing stuff. I love their exploitation offerings and I absolutely love their spaghetti westerns. I also have to give Swedish director Ingmar Bergman tons of credit. He did some truly remarkable films.

9. Who is your favorite artist? Painter, photographer, etc…

I love the drawings by Ralph Steadman and I really like the paintings from Marilyn Manson. Manson’s artwork is really incredible. I’d like to own one but a guy can dream.

10. Which film critics do you read?

I like to read Lisa Schwarzbaum and Owen Gleiberman from Entertainment Weekly and I also enjoy Roger Ebert. Another favorite would have to be Peter Travers from Rolling Stone. I also love finding new film blogs and getting the opinions from fellow film fans.

11. What is the meaning of life?

To watch movies and enjoy the ride. In that order.

QUESTIONS TO THE BLOGGERS I HAVE CHOSEN:

1.) What is your favorite movie poster?

2.) Besides writing about film, what else do you enjoy doing in your free time?

3.) What are your three favorite films in your movie collection?

4.) Name your favorite actor and actress from classic film. No current actors or actresses. Anything from the 1980s and below.

5.) Who are your three favorite bands and why?

6.) What is your favorite era of cinema and why?

7.) What is your favorite superhero movie?

8.) Did The Artist deserve Best Picture at the last Oscars?

9.) 3D or regular format at the movies?

10.) After a long day, what is your preferred cocktail?

11.) Do you believe in the supernatural?

11 RECIPIENTS:

Nightmirrors

Goregirl’s Dungeon

Flights, Tights, and Movie Nights

AndyWatchesMovies

The Warning Sign

The Movie Montage

The Year of Halloween

psychocinematics

PG Cooper’s Movie Reviews

Zombie Spirituality

Most Recently Watched

Posted on August 20, 2012, in FEATURE and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Thanks, man!
    I could eat sushi for every meal too, most definitely. Sometimes I have it 3 times in a week which really drains the wallet.

  2. Wait, you hate spiders but love Halloween?!? The two go hand in hand!

    Honestly, I think spiders are awesome, completely fascinating creatures… but I just saw Arachnophobia a month ago and that movie sort of changed my opinion a little bit. Now snakes, on the other hand… /chills.

    • Haha I always seem to have very bad encounters with the little bastards. When I lived in Dayton, I was at my neighbor’s apartment and there was a spider that had to be one of the biggest I have ever seen wild on the porch. It was HUGE and not just a Daddy Longlegs. It was horrifying. I didn’t like them before that but after seeing that thing, that was more than enough.

  3. I detest spiders, they scare a hell out of me! But I simply adored spiderman series due to its awesome special effects and theme.

  4. Thanks for the award. I actually just shared my post last week, but I appreciate the thought!

    It sounds like we have similar taste in music. I have seen The Flaming Lips and Radiohead three times each, and every show was amazing. Two of the best live bands going today.

    And sushi, hell yeah. It’s all about the eel, man.

    • Damn I just missed ya! Hey, it is no problem at all. You have a great site.

      Yeah Radiohead put on a jaw dropping performance. I couldn’t believe how good it was. I saw The Flaming Lips by chance and they were a trip. I like their music but I have to say I liked their live show better. The best two concerts I’ve ever been to Muse and Rob Zombie. Zombie puts on a concert you will never forget.

      Haha Glad to find another fan of eel. It is the best.

  5. Thanks Steve, I’ve been nominated for this a few times, and while I appreciate the gesture it is zombie month and there is no messing with zombie month.
    7. OF course there are movies that are so bad they are good!
    8. ITALY….YES SIR!

    Here are a few answers anyway…

    I don’t watch many superhero flicks although I sure liked Batman Begins but my fave is definitely the 1978 Superman.

    My favourite classic actor is Henry Fonda. Yep. I just fucking love that guy!

    The Beatles, The Velvet Underground, The Pixies

    Favourite era is the 70s.

    I’m all about the scotch right now.

    • I totally hear ya, Goregirl! Glad to hear you love Italy too. Spaghetti westerns AND Zitti zombie movies! What’s not to love? Like your responses to the questions. The 70s would have been awesome!

  6. I love Italian films! My favorite is Life is Beauitful 🙂

Leave a Reply

