Google Honors the 79th Anniversary of the First Drive-In Movie Theater!

Hey readers,

I thought I would point out that today Google is honoring the 79th anniversary of the opening of the first drive-in movie theater with a very cool little animated doodle on their home page. The first drive-in was opened by Richard Hollingshead, Jr on June 6th, 1933 in Camden, New Jersey . The first film that shown at this open-air movie theater was the 81 minute comedy Wives Beware. You can check out the Google doodle by clicking here to visit Google or by watching the video below.

It really is a shame that most of the drive-in theaters have closed up to make way for the big chain theaters. I fully intend to get to a drive-in this summer with my friends and I really can’t wait to do it. I’d give anything to go back in time to catch a classic double feature that consisted of a science-fiction chiller and a trashy monster flick. Oh well, a guy can dream, right? I guess I’ll settle for two movies from this summer then.

Now back to the show!

-Theater Management (Steve)

Posted on June 6, 2012, in FEATURE and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Big thumbs up for calling out drive-ins. We still have an active one in St. Louis, on the Illinois side, about a half hour away from me. I’ve got my fingers crossed that it can last.

    • There are a couple around me that are still going (at least three). I’ve never been to one and I hope to change that this summer. I’d like to see one play the older films. THAT would be really cool to see the old movies. Have you ever made it to the one by you?

Leave a Reply

